2019 Hyundai Mercury Prize shortlist

2019 Hyundai Mercury Prize Shortlist Revealed!

Discover the twelve ‘Albums of the Year’

We're excited to reveal the twelve ‘Albums of the Year’ shortlisted for the 2019 Hyundai Mercury Prize.

The shortlist was announced by BBC Radio 1 presenter Huw Stephens at the Launch event at the Langham Hotel, London.


Anna Calvi, Hunter

Black Midi, Schlagenheim

Cate Le Bon, Reward

Dave, Psychodrama

Foals, Everything Not Saved Will Be Lost - Part 1

Fontaines D.C., Dogrel

IDLES, Joy as an Act of Resistance

Little Simz, Grey Area

NAO, Saturn

SEED Ensemble, Driftglass

slowthai, Nothing Great About Britain

The 1975, A Brief Inquiry into Online Relationships

The Hyundai Mercury Prize champions the best British and Irish music and supports artists who push the boundaries in pursuit of producing creative, innovative albums. The twelve shortlisted ‘Albums of the Year’ are selected by an independent panel of judges and recognised to be highlights of the year’s music. The Award Show will be held at the Eventim Apollo, Hammersmith on Thursday, 19th September 2019.

View all Experiences articles